New Thesis Writing Online Workshops

For researchers, working-from-home often means working-on-writing. If you’re tackling your thesis writing during this lockdown (and beyond), AUT Library’s Academic Writing Advisors have a range of online workshops just for you.

These four workshops are designed especially for thesis writers, and they focus on getting started; writing introduction and conclusion sections; writing discussion sections; and writing literature reviews.

You can book into any of these from elab.aut.ac.nz. Access is through Blackboard, and you’ll receive a link to the online workshop, plus computer set-up info, by email in advance.

Getting started with writing

This workshop focuses on strategies for gradually creating chapter outlines and parts of a chapter in theses or dissertations. Participants will experience strategies related to freewriting, mapping concepts, and reading. These can be used to help researchers and get words on the page and organise ideas.

Date Morning Afternoon Evening
Tues 28 April 10-12 1-3  
Wed 6 May 10-12 1-3  
Mon 11 May 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 21 May 10-12 1-3 5-7
Wed 27 May 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 11 June 10-12 1-3  
Wed 17 June 10-12 1-3  

Writing introduction and conclusion sections

This workshop is for students who want an overview of the structure of Introduction and Conclusions sections of a thesis. It also identifies the functions and distinctive features of these sections in relation to the whole research project. Participants will have opportunities to analyse and discuss text examples and relate these to their own writing.

Date Morning Afternoon Evening
Wed 29 April 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 7 May 10-12 1-3 5-7
Wed 13 May 10-12 1-3  
Tues 19 May 10-12 1-3  
Tues 26 May 10-12    
Thurs 4 June 10-12   5-7
Tues 9 June   1-3  
Mon 15 June   1-3  

Writing Discussion sections

This workshop is for students who want an overview of the structure of discussion sections within a thesis. It also identifies the functions and distinctive features of this section in relation to the whole research project. Participants will have opportunities to analyse and discuss text examples and relate these to their own writing.

Date Morning Afternoon Evening
Tues 5 May 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 14 May 10-12 1-3 5-7
Mon 18 May 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 28 May 10-12 1-3  
Wed 3 June 10-12 1-3  
Mon 8 June 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 11 June     5-7
Tues 16 June 10-12 1-3  

Writing Literature review sections

This workshop is for students who want an overview of the structure of literature reviews within a thesis. It also identifies the functions and distinctive features of this section in relation to the whole research project. Participants will have opportunities to analyse and discuss text examples and relate these to their own writing. This workshop does not cover systematic literature reviews.

Date Morning Afternoon Evening
Thurs 30 April   1-3 5-7
Mon 4 May 10-12 1-3  
Tues 12 May 10-12 1-3  
Wed 20 May 10-12 1-3  
Mon 25 May 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 28 May     5-7
Tues 2 June 10-12 1-3  
Wed 10 June 10-12 1-3  
Thurs 18 June   1-3 5-7

About Graduate Research School (Auckland University of Technology)

The Auckland University of Technology Graduate Research School offers support and resources to all postgraduate students at AUT. Come and visit us on the 5th floor of the WU building.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

seven + 2 =